Skip to the main content
Thursday 17 June 202115.00

An 80,000-word thesis would take 9 hours to present. Their time limit… 3 minutes!

The 3MT competition asks Doctoral candidates to present their research in just three minutes, in language appropriate to non-specialists, and with only one single presentation slide to support them. Can it be done? You’ll have to watch to find out! This year we are holding the competition online, to allow as many UCL students to participate from wherever they are across the world!

How does it work?

Faculty heats took place from February to May 2021. The winner and runner-up from each Faculty Heat progressed to the UCL 3MT® Institutional Final, due to take place on Thursday 17 June 2021 at 3pm.

You can watch the final live, via the Students’ Union UCL Facebook page.

Our judges this year are: 

Jim Onyemenam - Postgraduate Students’ Officer at Students’ Union UCL

Kesia Bronk - Acting Head of Researcher Experience at UCL 

Nekisa Zekiri - 2020 UCL 3MT Winner and Wellcome Trust Clinical Research Fellow

The finalists are:

Ruben Calvard (IOE) - How do adolescents mediate their masculinity online?

Phoebe Heseltine (Engineering Sciences) - GutLabTM A minimally invasive ingestible device for gut microbiome monitoring.

Lydia Mapstone (Life Sciences) - SMB Genetic engineering of Spirulina for future settlers on the Red Planet

Emma Walker (Population Health Sciences) - Cultural Engagement and Biomarkers of Stress: Are people who engage only healthier because they’re wealthier?

Mica Clarke (Brain Sciences) - Positron emission tomography imaging biomarkers of frontotemporal dementia. 

Olivia Bracken (Medical Sciences) - Lipid Mediators – A drug target for autoimmunity?

Emma Mitchell (IOE) - Better-informed with the end in mind: post-16 choices at a dual-curriculum school

Suviti Chari (Engineering Sciences) - Make haste, valorise our Waste!

Savvas Dimiou (Life Sciences) - ‘Inhaling Genes”: A Non-invasive Route to Deliver Therapeutics to the Body

Fanourios Michailidis (Population Health Sciences) - Targeted Therapies for Arteriovenous Malformations

Atika Safitri (Brain Sciences) - What matters to patients with glaucoma?

Eoin Dinneen (Medical Sciences) - Potent Stuff!  Preserving erections in men who are having prostate cancer surgery

Have a look at some previous winners


On 25 June 2018, 9 students competed. The winner of the event was Elizabeth Forsyth, the runner-up was Ione Woollacott with Sarah Slack taking home the People’s Choice award.

View Elizabeth’s video here


On 26 June 2017, 13 students competed. The winner of the event was Alexandra Bridarolli with Carlos Ledezma taking home the People’s Choice award.

View Alexandra’s video here


On Final on 26 June 2016, 16 students competed. The winner of the event was Jonathan Lambert, with Fatumina Abukar taking home the People’s Choice award.

Jonathan was entered into the national UK Three Minute Thesis semi-final, and progressed to the national final.

View Jonathan’s video here


On 30 June 2015, 11 students competed. The winner of the event was Jonathan Hannabuss, with Sabina Andron coming second.

Jonathan was entered into the national UK Three Minute Thesis semi-final, and progressed to the national final.

Tickets type: 
No tickets